Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Seven Heavenly Behaviors

 We've all heard of the seven deadly sins and Pope Gregory's counter balancing virtues.

  • pride / humility
  • greed / generosity
  • lust / chastity
  • anger / patience
  • gluttony / temperance
  • envy / charity
  • laziness / diligence

I've thought often on this list.  While it balances each other, it misses to lessons of Jesus.  Moreover, it can be a bit confusing.  Should I show temperance in all things?  Temperance in my charity and generosity?  Should I display chastity with my spouse?  What should I be diligent doing/not doing?

Behold!  I have visited this list and find it lacking.  Perhaps, we need a better list of behaviors and attitudes to help us live more closely to the parables and lessons Jesus taught.  Here is my list of the seven heavenly behaviors:

  • Be Humble
  • Be Grateful
  • Be Kind
  • Be Patient
  • Be Forgiving
  • Be Understanding
  • Be of service to all others. (now replaced with: Be Compassionate)

Go out into this world in accordance with these seven heavenly behaviors.

No comments:

Post a Comment